I’ve received a couple of messages from Georgelle in Naples, Florida, and she would like your opinions – please send them to me. Here’s the situation:
In my opinion, and the way the OMs play the game, once a tile is called and/or down on the table, it is considered to be played and can’t be taken back. Even though you miscalled the tile, and corrected on the miscall, the North tile had to stay as your discard. That tile was played.
As far as paying for yourself and for the other two players, that probably is the right thing to do according to tournament rules. However, table rules for each game are different. The OMs table rules don’t penalize the player who incorrectly called out a tile so we would never make you pay for the other players. But those are our table rules. Your group clearly plays with tournament rules for this particular mistake. Actually, I believe with tournament rules that you not only would have had to pay for the other players but you also would have been called dead so, in that respect, you got off easy (even though the game ended right then with a Mah Jongg).
The last thing I have to say is that you shouldn’t think you did a stupid thing. Mistakes happen. And, as you pointed out, you were talking, not paying attention…and probably having a lot of fun. And that is the most important thing – to have fun while playing Mah Jongg!
I can’t wait to see what other players have to say when they weigh in on this question!