Another timely Q&A from Gladys Grad, the Grand Master of American-Style Mah Jongg.
Q. Today one of our tables had an occurrence that had not happened before. A tile was racked and simultaneously the previous discard was called. Who wins? This was not a tournament. One of our players posted this on Facebook and got many, many opinions on this. MOST said they believed the person who picked and racked got to keep the tile, because the person who called at the same time the other tile was racked was just not paying close enough attention. But a few said the caller had the upper hand. Who’s right?
A. It’s called a “simultaneous occurrence.” In all cases, the benefit of the doubt goes to the person claiming the tile. See the tournament rule below:
OFFICIAL MAH JONGG RULES FOR TOURNAMENTS
National Mah Jongg Tournaments®
Qualified for MAH JONGG MASTER POINTS® SANCTIONED MAH JONGG TOURNAMENTS
18. SIMULTANEOUS SITUATIONS: Sometimes a tile may be claimed at the same time as another player racks or discards their next tile. This comes under the “Mah Jongg Rule of Simultaneous Occurrence,” also known as “Interception,” “Precedence of Claims,” and “Concurrency.” In this event, the claimant will receive the benefit of the doubt. Please contact the Director for the official ruling in this matter.
What is your opinion on this? Let me know…